A graduated driver licensing law became effective in Ohio on July 1, 1998.  Designed to provide new drivers under age 18 with additional experience and skills when behind the wheel of a motor vehicle, this law:

  • • Allows 15 1/2 year-olds to obtain temporary instruction permits which are valid for one year.
  • • Requires a parent, guardian or licensed driving instructor to accompany the teen driver at all times.
  • • Requires the temporary permit to be held for a minimum of six months before a license may be obtained.
  • • Requires permit holders to have 50 hours of driving experience, including 10 at night, with a parent, guardian or licensed driving instructor.
  • • Also changes driver education requirements effective January 1, 1999. New drivers must have 24 hours of classroom and 8 hours of behind-the-wheel instruction.

The Ohio Insurance Institute supports this new graduated driver licensing system.  Similar systems in other states have reduced the number of crashes involving teens. Call our office or stop by for your free copy of The Driving Challenge - A Guide to Ohio's Graduated Driver Licensing Law published by the Ohio Department of Public Safety.  Or for further information call the Department directly at 1-800-462-2269.

Crabb Insurance, Inc. Your Partner for a Secure Future.

Get A Quote
Pay Your Bill
File A Claim


Crabb Insurance, Inc. Partners